Awards of Excellence: Catalyst Award


The Catalyst Award

Do you know someone that goes above and beyond; one that continuously shows leadership skills? Nominate them for the Catalyst Award!

This Award is designed to acknowledge and celebrate individuals who go above and beyond to make the world of Hospice run smoothly.

Award winners receive a cash prize and statewide recognition. There is no fee to apply, and multiple submissions for one award in encouraged.

 Start Your Nomination

See Our Past Catalyst Award Winners:

2015 Award Winner

Pam MezzinaPam Mezzina, Big Bend Hospice

Pam Mezzina has worked with the bereaved, including bereaved children, since 1995 at Big Bend Hospice (BBH). She currently serves as the BBH Bereavement services Manager. The BBH bereavement services department provided services to 3,165 bereaved individuals in 2013. She helped develop the Big Bend Hospice Caring Tree program, a unique bereavement model for children and adolescents. In 2009 Mrs. Mezzina founded the Trauma Grief & Loss Coalition (TGLC) for youth. This coalition now involves at least 20 agencies which meet at coalition meetings quarterly. At each meeting a venue for ongoing dialogue is provided and participants share current best practices and are given opportunities to debrief following recent challenges. Pam embodies the ideal of excellent teamwork; she understands that no one person or agency can effect great change alone. She seeks to better our community through strong and lasting partnerships, both internally and externally.


2014 Award Winner

TaylorPauline Taylor, Hospice of St. Francis

One definition of a Catalyst is a person whose talk, enthusiasm, or energy causes others to be more friendly, enthusiastic, or energetic.  For Hospice of St. Francis, the Catalyst joined their organization five years ago, when Pauline Taylor, RN, BS, ACHE came on board as the Vice President of Business Development.  With over 11 years of working in hospice, Mrs. Taylor brought with her the knowledge of both business development and clinical services.  She has provided the arena for Hospice of St. Francis employees to thrive, contribute, enjoy the work they do and know they are appreciated.  She has been the Catalyst for growth and contributed to a strong sense of community throughout the organization!


2012 Award Winner

Avow - KarenStevenson - 2012 Catalyst WinnerKaren Stevenson, Chief Advancement Officer, Avow Hospice

Despite a failing economy and limited resources, Karen Stevenson had the vision and skill to train and lead her team to the most successful campaign in Avow Hospice’s history – exceeding the original goal of $10 million dollars by more than 50%! Karen not only brought her own professionalism to Avow, she also equipped members of the Avow staff and Board to recognize their own gifts and abilities to advance the mission.






If you know of anyone that would be fitting for the Catalyst Award you can nominate them here. The deadline to nominate for The Catalyst Award is April 1st.